

Oregon Legislative LGBT Caucus

State Capitol Oregon State Legislature

For Immediate Release

November 20, 2022

Contacts:

Hannah Kurowski, <u>hannah.kurowski@oregonlegislature.gov</u> Stephen Watson, <u>stephen.watson@oregonlegislature.gov</u>

Oregon Legislature's LGBT Caucus Mourns Victims of Club Q Shooting

SALEM – Just before midnight on Saturday, a <u>mass shooting</u> at LGBTQ+ nightclub Club Q in Colorado Springs, CO, left at least five dead and 18 injured. In response, the Oregon Legislature's LGBT Caucus issued the following statement:

"Our hearts are breaking for the victims, their friends and families – for lives lost and forever changed – by this devastating, horrific attack on our community.

"We uplift the truly heroic actions of the patrons who acted with incredible courage, subduing the gunman and defending innocent lives against unbridled hate and violence.

"We are concerned by the escalation in hate-fueled violence and anti-LGBTQ+ rhetoric we continue to see across the nation and in Oregon. <u>Just last month in Eugene</u>, we saw threats of violence outside a local pub during its Drag Queen Storytime event. Reports to Oregon's <u>Bias Crime Hotline</u> increased by over 50% in 2021 alone. Bias crimes are vastly underreported.

"Every person, without exception, deserves to feel safe and protected in their communities. During the 2023 Legislative Session, we will work to lift up the voices of those most impacted by these terrible acts — to fund community violence prevention programs, advance common-sense gun safety legislation and fight to protect everyone's right to safety."

A statement from the Colorado Springs House Delegation and the LGBTQ Caucus on the shooting at Club Q <u>can be found here</u>. A list of mental health and crisis resources for LGBTQAI+ communities <u>can be found here</u>.

The Oregon Legislature's LGBT Caucus includes <u>Senate Majority Leader Kate Lieber</u> (D-Beaverton), <u>Representative Rob Nosse</u> (D-Portland), <u>Representative Karin Power</u> (D-Milwaukie), <u>Representative Dacia Grayber</u> (D-Tigard) and <u>Representative Travis Nelson</u> (D-Portland).